A Mothers Inner Strength

 
On Sunday May 11, 2014 we will celebrate Mothers. On that day we will have a #peopleskills  chat on the Inner Strength of Mothers. In honor of that day I wanted to share a story about my Mom.

I can’t imagine there is anything more difficult than losing your partner in life. My Mother and Farther were partners for over 50 years. They were more than just parents they were a leadership team which believed in their children and supported them through all the trials and tribulations of everyday life. And I assure you myself and my brothers and sisters challenged them on many occasions.

On a day that was supposed to be one of family celebration my Dad passed away unexpectedly. In thinking back on that day there was one thing that never happened. I never saw panic on the face of my Mother. She did not fall apart in the face of crisis and in fact brought a sense of calm to a room filled with shocked friends and family.

I went with my Dad that day to the hospital, while my Mom and Brother went to gather insurance information for the hospital. Her biggest concern expressed to us was that the wedding of my younger brother, for which we had gathered, go on as scheduled. Her thoughts and actions always on others not herself. 

I had the difficult task of explaining to Mom our options and knowing the choice would result in Dad not coming home with us. She handled it with an inner strength that to this day amazes me. She calmly asked questions of the doctors and my younger brother (a medical researcher) and made a decision. And through the emotions of that night and the days after, she has never publicly wavered.  In fact she has shown more a compassion and support for the others that felt the loss of my Dad. 

The inner strength she has show has given me much of my own. And her belief in me  and my siblings has been the glue that has kept us together.
Love you Mom.

One thought on “A Mothers Inner Strength

Leave a Reply

