My first post

Always ListeningI have spent many hours over the past several months working on building a network. I have begun to reconnect with some people from past jobs and started a connection with many people I have not yet actually met. I am really looking forward to getting a chance to get to know them. Most of these connections both on Twitter and Linkedin are from the category of Leadership. And my impression is that we have some really smart and caring people in this country.

One of the things I have learned is that to be a leader sometimes you have to step into uncomfortable waters and talk about the things you believe in so you can make a difference. A former supervisor told me once “a leader that no one follows is just a man out walking around.” With those two thoughts in mind I decided to start writing a blog. And today is my first post.

Posting today is also significant for me because two years ago on April 23,2011 my family lost one of its two leaders, my Dad. And through his example I learned more about leading people then I could have from any university. Not only in business but in life. Whether it was telling us that people didn’t work for us but work with us or traveling across country to pay his respects to grieving co-workers, he showed us that people matter. So I have decided to write my thoughts hoping I can make a difference in the life of just one person. Because even if it is only one person it will be worth the time.

So I will end my first post with this thought. As important as leadership is at the top of any company it is just as important, if not more important the closer we get to our customers. Some customers will know who the CEO is or the name of the Vice President of a company but everyone knows the person in the field that they see everyday. If we are to meet the challenges of a global economy we need to have, leaders, engaged team members and people who believe in our companies and our products in front of the customer every day. People that hold themselves accountable for doing the best job they can, because they believe they own the results. People that work with us not for us.

Leave a Reply

